A wonderful day in Calcutta

The first thing that came to my mind when I thought of Calcutta was Mother Teresa so I started the day by heading out towards the Mother House.

IMG_0989
A small museum area illustrates Mothers Teresa’s inspiring life and you can peak into her simple room on the first floor where she slept and worked from 1953 to 1997. The Mother House is simple but the energy was strong. Sitting there I was suddenly overwhelmed by so much emotion. It was unexpected and humbing.

IMG_0992.JPG

I then hoped on a bus and made it inside the Victoria Memorial, dedicated to the memory of Queen Victoria, right before it started to pour. There was a cool photo exhibition on “Satyajit Ray: The Many Moods of a Maestro” inside. The gardens seemed nice too but the weather did not allow to stroll around.

IMG_0998

I walked a bit then waved to a tuktuk to take me to New Market, also known as Hogg Market. Fabric, arts & crafts, balloons, jewelry, fruits, meat/animals… there was everything you can think of in there!

IMG_1035IMG_1034IMG_1033IMG_1019IMG_1021IMG_1022

IMG_1024IMG_1025IMG_1027IMG_1028

I had scribbled the name of Nizam restaurant known for their Ka Guldasta rolls but soon realized there was no way I was ever going to found it. I should have been a bit more specific…

IMG_1016IMG_1017

So I walked around, looking for another place that looked good, getting lost in the market… Until I looked up at some point I found Nizam’s place. I LOVE when that happens 🙂

IMG_9495.jpg

With my stomach full I tried the metro and headed towards the Howrah Bridge and the colorful flower market. Since I was in that part of town, I strolled around the Howrah train station, the one where Saroo ends up in the beautiful LION movie!

IMG_1066.JPG

IMG_9500

IMG_1056IMG_1057IMG_1061

I wanted to take a boat to Belur Math temple but the day was coming to an end and it looked like it was going to rain again so I walked back to the hotel through the back roads tasting as much street food as I could.

IMG_1069IMG_1076

… and that was the end of my first day in India 🙂

 

 

8 thoughts on “A wonderful day in Calcutta

Add yours

  1. I am so enjoying your blog.  I have followed your mom for several years.  It is as if I take a vacation anytime I read either of your blogs.  It would appear that you are really expanding your horizons.  Eileene Walker

    Like

  2. What marvelous experiences you shared in this post! The photos took me back to my wanderings in Little India in Singapore. Safe travels home.

    Like

  3. Thanks again Chelsea for a very interesting blog…you have a real spirit of adventure. So brave to do what you do alone. I so admire that virtue. Safe travels home. Hope you continue to blog. Have so enjoyed your writing. Hope your time there was all you wanted and more.
    HugsPam

    Like

  4. India is so intriguing to me….. cannot wait to visit as your post has only added to the wonderful curiosity I feel when I look at the pictures- the flower market must have been beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

